Limpopo denies it has deserted Cyril Ramaphosa for Zweli Mkhize

Limpopo denies it has deserted Cyril Ramaphosa for Zweli Mkhize

Limpopo denies it has deserted Cyril Ramaphosa for Zweli Mkhize

The ANC provincial executive committee (PEC) in Limpopo has denied that it decided to switch allegiances during the ANC elective conference from President Cyril Ramaphosa to former health minister Zweli Mkhize.

Reuben Madadzhe, a member of the Limpopo PEC, said an “unfortunate impression was created” suggesting the province will now vote for Mkhize to be the ANC’s next president.

“The ANC Limpopo PEC hereby distances itself from such an assertion as it is not a true reflection of the ANC PEC decision and or Branch General Meetings (BGMs),” he said.

There was speculation during the nomination process that Limpopo switched allegiances after KwaZulu-Natal supported Limpopo’s Stan Mathabatha.

The province’s deputy chairperson, Florence Radzilani, broke ranks and is reported to have urged Limpopo delegates to ditch Ramaphosa and “take the N3” – meaning KZN’s Mkhize.

The ANC in Limpopo has since set the record straight.

“The ANC Limpopo stands by its decision and will support the outcomes of Limpopo BGM’S which affirmed Cde Cyril Ramaphosa for President, Paul Mashatile: Deputy President, Cde Ndumiseni Ntuli: Secretary-General, Cde Nomvula Mokonyane: Deputy Secretary-General, Chauke Bejani: Treasurer General and Cde Stanley Mathabata as the preferred National Chairperson,” said Madadzhe.

“We further urge all delegates from Limpopo and beyond to exercise their right to elect leadership in accordance with the mandate of their respective branches,” he added.

Nominations for ANC top 7

The nominations for the ANC’s top seven officials were announced in the early hours of Sunday morning.

The following candidates will be on the ballot paper for election on Sunday morning:

ANC president:

Incumbent ANC President Cyril Ramaphosa

ANC national executive committee (NEC) member Zweli Mkhize

ANC deputy president:

ANC treasurer-general and acting secretary-general Paul Mashatile

ANC NEC member and Justice Minister Ronald Lamola

Eastern Cape Premier and ANC provincial chair Oscar Mabuyane

ANC national chairperson:

Limpopo Premier and ANC provincial chair Stanley Mathabatha

ANC national chair and Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy Gwede Mantashe

ANC NEC member and Deputy Minister of Finance David Masondo

ANC secretary-general:

Former KwaZulu-Natal ANC secretary Mdumiseni Ntuli

Former Eastern Cape premier Phumulo Masualle

ANC head of elections and Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula

First ANC deputy secretary-general:

ANC NEC member and the party’s national head of organizing Nomvula Mokonyane

ANC MP and NEC member Tina Joemat-Petterson.

Second ANC deputy secretary-general:

ANC Women’s League (ANCWL) national coordinator Maropene Ramokgopa.

ANC member Ronalda Nalumango.

ANC treasurer-general:

ANC member and Ramaphosa’s special advisor Bejani Chauke.

Outgoing ANC national spokesperson Pule Mabe.

ANC Ekurhuleni regional chairperson Mzwandile Masina.

Former Gauteng health MEC Gwen Ramokgopa.

Comments are closed.